What I Learned From Growing A Beard

by rubenharris

“Comfort zones are most often expanded through discomfort.” – Peter McWilliams

There are two main reasons why I have never grown a beard before this.  First, because I am significantly less attractive with facial hair.  Second, because it is traditionally not accepted in the corporate world.  However, after thinking about the lessons I could draw from growing a beard, I decided to go for it.  

1.  The In-Between Stage

This is the time when everyone looks at you funny and tells you that you look like an idiot.  The committed beard grower has the end in sight, ignores the critics, and focuses on his goal.

2.  Uncomfortable

One of the biggest things that prevents us from achieving the goals we set for ourselves is because we don’t like to suffer.  When you start growing a beard it is very uncomfortable.  It itches and it gets irritated…but after a while you get used to it.

3.  Patience

For some people, the time it takes to grow a beard is short.  For others, it takes longer.  The important thing is to be patient if it is not coming out how you want it immediately.  Slow and steady wins the race.

4.  Maintenance

There are wild beards and groomed ones.  I prefer to keep my beard tame.  This demands attention to detail and upkeep.

5.  Growth, Maturity, and Recognition

Beards make you look older and wiser.  Growing a beard is like entering a club.  Once you cross over, you begin to notice all the other members.  When we want to present ourselves in a certain way, we have to look the part.  

I don’t think that I will keep this beard for very long, but I did learn a lot from it and felt that I should share this with you.

Beard_progress
