How To Manage Your Time

by rubenharris

Scan0003

“Time is the great equalizer.  Everyone has 24 hours in a day.  Make the most of it.”

– Cliff Olson

Time management has been touted as one of the most difficult things to do for many people.  Phrases such as, “I don’t have time”, “I’ll do it later”, and “there aren’t enough hours in the day” are commonplace.  While this may be true and things need to be rearranged in some cases, the art of managing your time is a lot easier than you think.  The solution to many of your time problems lies in making a schedule.  

1.  Set a specific time that you are going to wake up and go to bed.  

This is the most important thing to establish because it determines how many hours you have at your disposal and how rested you will be.  Sleep before midnight is better than sleep after midnight.  You may be able to push yourself with no sleep but recognize that your mind will not be as sharp.

2.  Assign a time for everything.

The simple act of writing down what needs to be done and assigning a time for it gives clarity.  You are literally “making time” and deciding to have some control over the direction of your day.

3.  Leave room for error.

Some things are difficult to set in stone, especially when it comes to bed time.  My suggestion is to make a range and always get within the ballpark for those specific line items.

4.  Share it with others.

Part of the reason why I blog some of my goals is because you guys help me stay committed to them.  I encourage you to try the same idea with your schedule and share it with your inside circle.

5.  Stick to it.

If your schedule says that you will be walking past my office at 8:45 AM everyday, I expect to look out of my window and see you at that time everyday.

Finally,

Always remember…

“This time, like all times, is a very good one, if we but know what to do with it.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Ruben A. Harris

