Progress Update: Denouement

by rubenharris

This is the last of this series of blog posts sharing some of my post graduate experiences.

Denoument [dey-noo-mahn] noun

1. The outcome or resolution of a doubtful series of occurrences.

Last week I was scheduled for my third and final interview to determine whether or not I would secure the investment banking internship I had been pursuing.  As you will recall, leading up to this point I had realized that relevant work experience was really more important thafurthering my education at this point.  If I were to finish my MBA and have no work experience it could actually be viewed as a detriment to future employment.  The first interview was conducted on the phone for screening purposes.  The second interview was a meeting in person with the CEO in a restaurant.  This last interview was conducted in the office so that I could meet the Senior Vice President and be interviewed by her independently.

My first impression of her was that this is a woman that is accomplished and refined in her personal tastes.  The questions she asked me were straight forward focusing on why I wanted to break into the industry.  She was also curious about my musical background and how I was planned on blending both business and music into my career, if at all (future blog post).  She then asked me if I had any questions for her.  I asked her if she thought the impending financial reforms would have a negative effect on their current operations.  I also asked her about her background and her charitable work.  At the conclusion of the interview we went to the CEO’s office to finalize the terms of the internship.

I am pleased to say that I have secured an investment banking internship with Brookwood Hill Group, Inc.  Due to the confidential nature of our business dealings I will not be blogging about my work with the company.  Suffice it to say, I am humbled by the generosity and the trust that has been shown to me and I will not betray it.  

I had been so focused on getting work with a bulge bracket firm that I had not appreciated the advantages of starting out with a boutique investment company.  I have already been fully engaged on projects throughout this week where I would have otherwise been behind the scenes.  I have also gained a mentor who can advise me throughout my career.

I leave you with an interesting quote:

Men who have attained things worth having in this world have worked while others idled, have persevered when others gave up in despair, have practiced early in life the valuable habits of self-denial, industry, and singleness of purpose.  As a result, they enjoy in later life the success so often erroneously attributed to good luck.  – Grenville Kleiser

